Did I cause it?

I think it’s easy to find yourself in a crappy situation and think “man this sucks.” For me, my instinct is…in order to change the crappy situation, I have to find who or what is crappy. Right?

Wrong.

Frustration is almost my middle name. Like seriously…I don’t think there’s been a day that has gone by in my 23 years of living where I didn’t find myself frustrated about something. One day I decided “I am tired of feeling annoyed…” it’s really bad on the skin. Plus, I always tend to crave sweets when I’m upset and we all know where that leads…so I knew I needed to find a solution.

Google. It’s the medicine to all my problems. Google search: Define Frustration…

“the feeling of being upset or annoyed, especially because of the inability to change or achieve something.”

Ah hah! All I needed to read was the word inability. Not my fault. Nailed it. But just to make sure I am justified, my next google search: What does God say about frustration?…

PAUSE

You know that moment when you think you are going to get a certain answer and then it ends up being the complete opposite and you are now convicted about almost everything in your life (*grabs handful of cookies and shoves into mouth*)

RESUME

What popped up from my google search: “5 Steps to Handling Frustration” by Rick Warren

Woah woah woah. 5 steps…like, I have to do something about it? What happened to inability…aka it not being about me.

  1. Ask yourself, “Did I cause it?”
    – we often are frustrated by many things in life because we bring them on ourselves
    (bring on more cookies…*insert crying emoji* *insert knife emoji*)

Galatians 6:7 says “..You will always harvest what you plant”

He goes on with 4 more steps, but this one really hit home for me. I realized, most my frustration comes from blaming everyone else. Maybe I need to take a second and ask, “Did I cause it?”

In scripture it says “look at the plank in your eye before you point out the spec in another’s.” Instead of thinking who or why…I need to start looking at “I.” Even if you’re not the reason why something is going wrong, you can at least be the reason why it starts going right. We are called, as believers, to find joy and thanksgiving through all seasons. This is when true worship happens. God is good ALL THE TIME. So shouldn’t we live and act like He is?

Leave a Reply

