We Can’t Forget the Yet.

Jesus Christ. Son of God. Savior to the world.

God sent His son to come to the earth and sacrifice Him…SACRIFICE Him for our sins. Ours.

For some reason, the more I hear the story, the duller it becomes. Bare with me, I don’t actually think that, it’s just what habitual things tend to do in our brains. They become “normal”.

But I don’t think we get it. That, Jesus dying…DYING on the cross for us should never become normal.

In fact, Jesus, himself, should never be normal. Think about it. He is FULLY human and FULLY God. Does that even make sense??

The bible has many moments where Jesus experiences real emotion. And if you’re an emotional person like me, that’s refreshing. Even the Son of God wasn’t always a happy-go-lucky guy.

One example is in Matthew, when Jesus is praying in Gethsemane.

“My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.” Matthew 26:39

Jesus would do this THREE more times. You see, Jesus was experiencing sorrow, grief, and fear.

But here’s the difference between us and Jesus. Jesus had a YET. “Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.”

I’m sorry, but if I’m about to be brutally beaten and killed I don’t think I’d have a yet. I’d keep it at “take it away from me.” …That’s it.

But maybe that’s the point. Maybe God is trying to show us that even in the tough season, where everything seems to be falling apart and suffering takes on a whole new meaning, we’re suppose to say “Yet your will be done, not mine.”

We are even reminded of this in the earlier chapters of Matthew.
“Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. ‘So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:33-34

Seasons can be tough and we may have a hard time making sense of it, but we have a God who is Sovereign. His promises are always true.

So I encourage you, when you’re praying through ANY season in life, remember “Yet your will be done, not mine.coffeecup

Leave a Reply

